This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
USB 2.0 port on tinkerboard enough power for HDD ?
Morning all 

New member here and a total noob.

I would like to know if the usb 2.0 Port on the tinker board and also the new s model has enough power to be able to run a external HDD or a SATA hdd via usb to SATA 3 cable or using a bridge board ?

I would like to have a bigger storage something like 1TB or 2TB hdd so don’t really want to be using a micro sd card.

i don’t really want to be having a separate power input for the HDD, I would like everything to be powered by a single psu / power unit.

If this is not possible what alternatives do I have in order to achieve what I would like to do ?
(i.e) would it be possible to connect the power pins on the HDD to either the GPIO pins if that is possible ?

I hope someone can help 

Thanks
Anyone ???
(05-13-2018, 07:32 PM)Atarioldskool Wrote: Anyone ???

I used a toshiba 1.5tb from walmart with only one usb port.
Only buy the little laptop harddrive. The bigger ones require a power unit.
I bought a Seagate 4tb usb drive from costco and it didn't work with the TB. I think too big. To many platters to turn.
I may have a bad seagate usb drive so I am taking it back. I'll get the slim usb.
I would think the smaller/thinner 2tb seagate slim would work.

Supported Devices