This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Recommended OS
I just started playing with my Tinker Board S. I installed the latest Tinker OS but it doesn't seem to work that well.

Updating the packages causes Chromium to stop working (downgrading fixed this) and Firefox doesn't start at all.

Which OS is recommended around here? Are there other OSs that are known to be more stable than Tinker OS?
On top of my mind, Armbian is a good substitute.
As per your interest to have a GUI, better to chose the desktop version.

But I would say that at the eve of the second year from the debut, the software doesn't meet the hardware. In particular for the device-tree which lacks of descriptions and wireless devices that still in staging development.
Chromium it's better to keep the one that came from the installation image. Further upgrades are likely failing, as you might read over the forum.
Light blue words might be a link. Have you try to click on them? Big Grin
> Chromium it's better to keep the one that came from the installation image. Further upgrades are likely failing, as you might read over the forum.

Chromium on Armbian should survive the upgrade. At least if next upstream upgrade is not broken too.
Armbian. Lightweight Debian Stretch or Ubuntu Bionic for Tinker Board.