This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
UART loop back process
Hi, 

I am new to linux and Tinker board too. I need to test UART loopback process with GPIO pin 8 and 10. Please help me.
Just short the TX to RX, then in program like picocom or minicom then the character that you type will be echoed back.
Anything different I (we) don't get your meaning. Expand a little.
You might search on the forum with UART as keyword (top right hand corner)
Light blue words might be a link. Have you try to click on them? Big Grin
(01-31-2019, 11:37 PM)Im4Tinker Wrote: Just short the TX to RX, then in program like picocom or minicom then the character that you type will be echoed back.
Anything different I (we) don't get your meaning. Expand a little.
You might search on the forum with UART as keyword (top right hand corner)

Thanks for your reply.

I tried the same. but its not showing any thing on screen, even i am not able to exit from minicom as i open it.

i used command to open UART
1.           minicom -b 115200 -o -D /dev/tty0

2.           picocom -b 115200 /dev/tty0

picocom v1.7

port is        : /dev/tty0
              flowcontrol    : none
              baudrate is    : 115200
              parity is      : none
              databits are   : 8
              escape is      : C-a
              local echo is  : no